top of page

Tiddlywinks Curriculum

The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) Curriculum


We are guided by the Early Years Foundation Stage Statutory Framework which sets standards for the learning, development and care of children from birth to five years old. All schools and Ofsted registered early years providers must follow the EYFS.


The four guiding principles


There are four guiding principles in the EYFS, we believe it is important that these principles are used when implementing the seven learning and development areas in the EYFS.


The principles are: - 


1. Every child is a unique child, who is constantly learning and can be resilient, capable, confident and self-assured.


2. Children learn to be strong and independent through positive relationships.


3. Children learn and develop well in enabling environments with teaching and support from adults, who respond to their individual interests and needs and help them to build their learning over time. Children benefit from a strong partnership between practitioners and parents and/or carers.


4. The importance of learning and development. Children develop and learn at different rates.


For more information see links below.


Areas of learning and development

There are seven areas of learning and development. The areas are: -


  • Communication and Language

  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development

  • Physical Development

  • Literacy

  • Mathematics

  • Understanding the World

  • Expressive Arts & Design




The main components of each of the seven areas are: -


Communication and Language experiences are about:

  • Listening, Attention and Understanding

  • Speaking


 Personal, Social and Emotional experiences are about:

  • Self-Regulation

  • Managing Self

  • Building Relationships


Physical Development experiences are about:

  • Gross Motor Skills

  • Fine Motor Skills


 Literacy experiences are about:

  • Comprehension

  • Reading

  • Writing


 Mathematics experiences are about:

  • Number

  • Numerical Patterns


Understanding the World experiences are about:

  • Past and Present

  • People, Culture and Communities

  • The Natural World 


Expressive Arts & Design experiences are about:

  • Creating with Materials

  • Being imaginative and Expressive

For more information, please see documents below

bottom of page